Aviation Museum in Mažeikiai

The initiator and founder of this unique museum is physician Darius Ereminas, the man who is interested in aviation and loves to fly. By establishing such a museum, he wants to demonstrate the human desire to fly. Among exhibits of the museum, one can see items that are dedicated to Samogitian aviators who were aviation…

Renavo dvaras

Renavas Manor and its park

The Renavas manor was mentioned in written sources in the 16th century. At the end of the 17th century, the Renne family became its owners and the manor came to be known by the name of Renavas. In the 19th century, the manor was in herited  through male offspring. Antanas Renne did not have any…


The old part of Seda: a townscape monument

Seda was mentioned in written sources starting in the 13th century. By the 15th century, the place was well-known as a significant trade centre of the region, by the border with Livonia. The town development was stimulated by its strategic position by the road from Livonia to Samogitia. In 1855 Bishop and poet Antanas Baranauskas,…


Stone of the Sun, in Ruzgai

This stone has several names given to it: Dapšiai Mythological Stone, Ford Stone, Ruzgai Stone.  However, the reason why it may also be named the Stone of the Sun,  are four circles, similar to plates, 38-50 cm in diameter, engraved in the stone, which might symbolize the Sun. It became a mystery for archaelogists, as…


Church of the Crucified Jesus, in Pievėnai

Pievėnai Church of the Crucified Jesus, which was built in 1788, on the landowner Feliksas Važinskis‘ initiative and care, resembles a traditional wooden residential house, rectangular in shape, with a turret, and three altars. This church has preserved an old tradition, now unique in Europe, which is a theatrical vigil of Easter Night with a…


Dionizas Poška‘s Birthplace in Lėlaičiai

Dionizas Poška (1765–1830), one of the most important 19th century Lithuanian writers, was famous as a historian, archaelogist, lawyer, founder of a museum, linguist, translator and poet. He was born in 1764,  Žemalė parish, at the Lėlaičiai manor. Dionizas Poška lived there until his mother died, later, with his father and stepmother, moved to Maldūnai.…


Wayside Shrine of the Five Hearts in Tirkšliai

Wayside shrine of the Five Hearts was built by an unknown craftsman in 1676. It is situated at the edge of Tirkšliai square, by the old Mažeikiai–Seda road. The round part of the shrine is decorated on three sides with a row of five bright red hearts. Many stories are told about how this wayside…

Daubariai mounds

Daubariai Mounds

According to geologists, both mounds originated from one bigger mound, „cut“ in two pieces by the Viešetė river. The bigger part of the mound is on the right bank of the river, and the smaller- on the left. Archaelogists say, that from the end of Ist millenium BC untill the 2nd half of Ist millennium…


Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus and The Assisi/ Martyrs‘ Cross

  The present red-brick building of this Roman Catholic church was built in 1930-1936. The author of its architectural design was the famous Lithuanian architect of the inter-war period Gabrielius Landsbergis-Žemkalnis (1893–1993). In 1943, the new church interior was decorated by a well-known Lithuanian painter Rimtas Kalpokas (1908–1999). The church is famous for „Pieta“ sculpture,…